|In the Matter of Amendments
to the MINIMUM CONTINUING
LEGAL EDUCATION RULES
|ORDER NO. 05-011
ORDER AMENDING MCLE
RULES 4.3 AND 5.2
At its public meeting on February 8, 2005, the court considered and approved proposed amendments to Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) Rules 4.3 and 5.2 submitted by the Oregon State Bar Board of Governors.
IT HEREBY IS ORDERED that the Oregon State Bar Minimum Continuing Legal Education Rules are amended as set out below, effective the date of this order. Deleted text is in brackets and italics; new text is in boldface.
4.3 Group Activity Accreditation.
* * * * *
(c) A written application for accreditation of a group CLE activity submitted by or on behalf of the sponsor of the CLE activity shall be accompanied by the program sponsor fee required by MCLE Regulation 4.350. An additional program sponsor fee is required for a repeat live[, video or audio] presentation of a CLE activity.
* * * * *
5.2 Other CLE Activities.
(a) Teaching Activities.
(1) Teaching activities may be accredited at a ratio of four credit hours for each sixty minutes of actual instruction if the presentation includes preparation of written materials, or at a ratio of two credit hours for each sixty minutes of actual instruction if the presentation does not include written materials. No more than 20 hours of teaching credit may be claimed in a three-year reporting period and no more than 10 hours may be claimed in a shorter reporting period.
(2) Teaching credit is allowed only for accredited continuing legal education activities or for courses in ABA or AALS accredited law schools. Credit shall not be given to an active member whose primary employment is as a full-time or part-time law teacher, but may be given to an active member who teaches on a part-time basis in addition to the member's primary employment.
(3) Teaching credit is not allowed for programs and activities for which the primary audience is nonlawyers unless the applicant establishes to the MCLE Administrator's satisfaction that the teaching activity contributed to the professional education of the presenter.
(4) No credit is allowed for repeat presentations of previously accredited courses unless the presentation involves a substantial update of previously presented material, as determined by the MCLE Administrator. Updated courses satisfying this requirement may be accredited at a ratio of two credit hours for each sixty minutes of actual instruction.
DATED this 8th day of February, 2005.
Wallace P. Carson, Jr. Chief Justice