IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
In the Matter of Adoption of
The Oregon State Bar Board of Bar Examiners has proposed amending Rule for Admission of Attorneys 7.05, relating to applicants for admission under the house counsel rule taking the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam. The Board of Bar Examiners has proposed to change the rule to require that an applicant under the house counsel rule have passed the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam within 13 months as opposed to the current 24 month requirement. The matter came before the court at its public meeting of October 10, 2006, at which time the court approved the proposed amendment.
Rule for Admission 7.05 as amended is set out on the attached page with new text shown in bold print and deleted text shown in italic print, bracketed, and lined through.
Rule for Admission 7.05 as amended by this order shall become effective immediately.
Dated this 3rd day of November, 2006.
Paul J. De Muniz
7.05 Time and Place
(1) Every applicant for admission by examination and as house counsel under Rule 16.05 is required to pass a Professional Responsibility Examination as a requirement for admission. The passing grade for each examination shall be determined by the Supreme Court upon the recommendation of the Board of Bar Examiners.
(2) The examination will be the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination as given under the auspices of the National Conference of Bar Examiners. The examination will be conducted at the times, places and in the manner prescribed by the National Conference of Bar Examiners or its duly authorized representatives.
(3) The applicant may take the examination at any location where it is given, and may take the examination before graduation from law school. However, the examination must be taken and passed within 24 months of passing the Oregon Bar Examination. For applicants applying under Rule 16.05, the examination must be taken and passed within  13 months of the date of application. For the purpose of this rule, the date that an examination is given shall be the date on which it is "taken and passed" if the applicant is successful.
(4) The applicant may take the examination as many times as is necessary to pass.